top of page
  • Writer's pictureMallory Thompson

Reading Dragons and Friends Year 4

Updated: Nov 28, 2022

It is the middle of summer and already I am getting ready for my 4th year running the Reading Dragons and Friends. I've made some cute polaroid's and a letter to share with the kids about the Reading Dragons' summer vacation. I think this is a fun way to transition from summer reading to school programming. I also made a summer word search and an activity page where kids can draw a picture of what they did this summer.

I also finished the starter cards for this year. The starter cards are 3 cards in blue, red and green, that we give to children when they pick up their reading tracker. This year we have Lava Phoenix, Dolphin Kelpie, and Sunflower Unicorn.


Last year some amazing libraries joined the Reading Dragons, and Camas Public Library created 2 delicious dragons to share with everyone. Please welcome Donut, and Waffle.


Liz and I were discussing what cool literary themes we could add to our program this year and the first that came to mind are characters of Frank L. Baum's "The Wizard of Oz". I've started on Dorothy, and Liz is working on the Wicked Witch Elphaba. Here is a peek at my progress on Dorothy.

I am super excited for this year, and I am looking forward to seeing more cards designed by our library collaborators!

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page